Thorney Close Primary School

"Where Learning Blossoms..."

Governing Body Constitution

The Governing Body is drawn from the staff of the school, the Local Education Authority, parents and the wider community that our school serves. The usual term of office is four years but many governors stand for re-election and serve more than one term.

The constitution of our Governing Body states that we should have a maximum of 13 governors as follows:

  • The Headteacher

  • One governor appointed by the Local Authority (may not be a member of staff)

  • Parent governors elected by the parents One staff governor elected by the staff

  • Governors co-opted by the Governing Body

When there is a vacancy for a parent-governor, all parents are informed, and asked if they wish to join.  If there are more applicants than places, a ballot is arranged.

Staff  (including headteacher)

Mrs Catherine Jones (Headteacher)

Miss Ashlee Graham

Local Authority



Miss Amy Charlton

Miss Lisa Palmer

Mr Glenn Proctor (Vice Chair of Governors)

Miss Alice Rowell

Miss Jane Stelling


Mrs Rachel Aird

Ms Lucy McMahon

Miss Sarah Rose

Mrs Lorraine Scott (Chair of Governors)

Constitution of governing bodies of maintained schools: statutory guidance

National Governance Association